Compassion by Me, for Me: A Poem

pexels-photo-173383.jpeg

Of all the people in the world, who sees and interacts with me.

The only one who really knows I am hurting

How much I am tired some days

How much something is wearing me down

Is me, and no one else.

 

When our loved ones are hurting

Or when they are tired some days

How much something is wearing them down

Like an immediate and steadfast rescue team, eager to provide aid

We Comfort

We support

And say everything is going to be okay

 

How would it feel

To get that warmth,

That understanding, and cheerleader

From the one who is

Likely most qualified

To do such as task?

 

How would it look like

To get the insight

Forgiveness and the action list

From the one who is

Most familiar of

Our history and strength?

 

Wouldn’t that be incredible?

Wouldn’t that be empowering?

Wouldn’t that be comforting?

Wouldn’t that be very much healing?

 

Like the shiny self-indulgent gift

Purchased in a shop, that gives thrill and excitement

Like the delectable piece of cake

Ready to be devoured, to give bliss and sweetness

 

I wish that one day

When I am hit with life’s setbacks

When in that moment I know I’m hurting

When I’m just so tired that day

When I know that something is wearing me down

Wrapped with a bow and lovingly presented

I can gift myself with compassion

I can serve forgiveness for my mistakes

I can accept it lovingly, knowing that I need it

I can grasp and hold it tight, knowing that I deserve it

 

That way,

Life can be embraced again, in all its mysteries and flaws

That way,

Learning is discovered, equipping  new wisdom and skills

That way,

Lingering pain is replaced with ongoing optimism

That way,

I can fully believe, like when I tell a friend, that everything is going to be okay.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

